One Man’s Trash is Another Man’s Treasure: Thrifting

Thrifting is a highly underrated sport. Yes, I just called it a sport. Sifting through racks upon racks of clothing with no apparent sorting scheme is exhausting, okay? Don’t even get me started on the bins and shelves of old records, VHS tapes, and books. It can get extremely cutthroat.

Purchasing items used is not only great for your wallet, but it is also great for the environment. I encourage you to hit up your local thrift shop before immediately heading to the department store. You never know what you might find (trust me, I have seen it all).

One of my favourite things to look for at thrift stores are flannels. True flannels can be pricey and surprisingly difficult to find in stores that are concerned with carrying the most recent trends. Personally, I love the look of a worn in flannel, so buying it secondhand is perfect!

13925154_10210498848533267_2309809935750662673_n

Recently, it seems like everything  90’s grunge is all the rage. I don’t know about you, but I often find that the clothes meant to look retro just end up looking cheap. If you have the time and patience to browse through your local thrift store, you might just find the real deal!

13912811_10210498848693271_6847101526288361085_n

Believe it or not, I only paid $10 for this Levi’s jean jacket!

Another thing I love shopping for at thrift stores is old vinyls and VHS tapes. Oh, the nostalgia! There really is nothing like having to get up and physically flip the record to continue listening to your music or to fast forward through previews of all the Disney movies you begged your parents to take you to in theaters as a child!

Leave a Reply

