App Appreciation: Pacifica

Midterm season is upon us and with that comes the inevitable stress. However, Pacifica is a resource that has the potential to benefit everyone struggling with their mental health.

Pacifica is a free app for iPhone and Android  (it can also be used on the web) that I have been using since the beginning of August. I downloaded the app because I stopped seeing my therapist on a weekly basis, and the change in routine was harder for me than I originally thought. However, through this app, I have learned to better manage and track patterns of my mental state on my own. Guess what? It really worked for me!

The app’s main feature allows you to track your mood as frequently as you would like. When you do this, you have the option to track your specific feelings and write about what is going on. Another feature of the app is tracking your health and you can choose which aspects you would like to log. At the end of the day, the app puts your entries into an easy to read chart that monitors everyday that you use the app. I am definitely a pen-to-paper type of person, but the charting feature of this app has allowed me to recognize patterns far more efficiently than my usual journaling.

Similarly, there is a checklist for you to set goals to challenge yourself and a thoughts activity that forces you to turn your negative, irrational thoughts into more realistic and grounded ones.

Another nice feature of the app is that it is a community. The app is entirely anonymous, but there are multiple communities available for users to make posts and comment on others’ posts. Some examples include gratitude, mindfulness, health, and your stories. Similarly, there is also a groups function where users can join chats about literally anything! If you’re looking for a chat about something specific and can’t seem to find it, you can even create your own and share a code with other users who are interested in joining it.

The last big feature of this app is its relax tab that contains meditations and breathing techniques. It is important to note, however, that a lot of the meditations require a paid upgrade to the app.

Overall, this app has been my best friend since I first downloaded it around 3 months ago. It significantly helped me turn my life around, and, if you suffer from stress, anxiety, depression, or any other mental illness, I highly recommend giving this app a try. You have got nothing to lose, and so much to gain.

shark175

 

Leave a Reply

