Personal Pizzas

If there is one universal truth in this world it is this; pizza is always good. I learned this when I was home from school for a weekend months ago and eager to show off my new cooking capabilities. I made personal pizzas from scratch for my family and instantly became the favoured child (don’t tell my brother).

I’m not going to lie, my cooking capabilities were the result of procrastination and Pinterest. Here is the link to the recipe I used for the dough that I made from scratch. It is meant for a thin crust, but, I knew my family likes a thicker crust, so I just used a regular rolling pin to roll it out to my desired thickness. It still worked out.

The dough is the only laborous step in making pizza. If you don’t have the time, or the desire, to make the dough from scratch, personal pizzas can be made in less than 15 minutes on a flatbread.

Should you choose to make it on the flatbread, all you need to do is preheat the oven to 350 degrees, cook the flatbread for 5 minutes. Then, remove the flatbread from the oven, top it with whatever toppings you’d like, and put it back in the oven for another 5 minutes. Lastly, broil it for about 2 minutes (watch it closely!).

Here are three pizzas that were a hit with my family:

Cheese:

img_6790

Who doesn’t love a classic cheese pizza? All I used on this one was strained tomatoes and a marble cheese.

Pesto:

img_6792

img_8937

This one was definitely my favourite! My dad loved it so much, that I’ve made it on both the flatbread and homemade dough. I used a basil pesto, then grated marble cheese. I topped it off with mushrooms and tomato. For all you omnivores out there, this would be great with chicken as well!

BBQ Chicken:

img_6791

This one was my brother’s favourite. For this pizza, I used barbecue sauce, shredded Monterey Jack cheese and grilled chicken pieces.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

