April Favourites

Hopefully April was the last of the cold months. I spent a lot of time gazing out the window, wishing the warm sun wasn’t so deceiving. Therefore I read a lot of books and watched a lot of Netflix. It’s not something I’m proud of, but hey, a few books and shows made it into this months’ favourites!

 

Room: This book, by Emma Donoghue, is written from a five year old boy’s perspective. His mother was kidnapped as a teenager and held captive for the past seven years in a man’s backyard shed. During this time, she had her son, who, at five years old, helped the two escape the room. At first, I had a hard time reading the book; all grammar is thrown out the window. However, I quickly came to appreciate Donoghue’s talent for writing.

Zentangles: I learned what a zentangle while in treatment. Like colouring, it is a way to be mindful, relax, and allow your creative to take precedent. Here you can learn more about zentangles including it’s history and benefits.

17861918_10213034700327977_2726534006034856441_n

13 Reasons Why: This show, based off the book by Jay Asher, is about Hannah Baker, a high school student who took her life. Before she died, she recorded a series of tapes, explaining why she committed suicide. I’ve never read the book, but I would love to get my hands on it after watching the show. Unlike most media, the show does not downplay current societal issues like rape and mental illness. As moving as this is, it is important to note that, for this reason, certain scenes might be triggering to particular viewers.

Colour Changing Mug: I got this mug as a gift from one of mo co-patients an, now, good friend, as a gift for completing treatment. When it is heated the sleeping, black cat turns orange and opens it’s eyes! How cute!

Why Not Me?: This is Mindy Kaling’s second book. You probably don’t know this about me, but The Mindy Project is my FAVOURITE television show. Mindy Kaling is one of my biggest idols; her talent and work ethic amaze me. Not to mention, she makes me laugh on my lowest days. I had been dying to read this book, but for some reason, I never picked it up. When my aunt lent it to me, I read it in two days! It is the perfect light read.

Wild Friends Cinnamon Raisin Peanut Butter: I bought this when I saw it on sale. I thought it was a brilliant combination. I love cinnamon raisin everything and I love peanut butter, so I had to give it a shot. It’s delicious! The brand makes a variety of all natural nut butters; I can’t wait to try more!

Mr. Kate: Lately I have been binge watching Mr. Kate’s YouTube videos. I have always loved watching room tour videos and Mr. Kate’s videos are like the ultimate ones. This channel features room transformations, DIYs and suggestions to change up any space in your house. Here is the link, but be warned- the videos are highly addictive.

Essential Oils: I loved using essential oils in the program. We often used them in crafts and during meditation and other mindfulness activities. This month I finally got my own, courtesy of my wonderful aunt, and I have been using them everyday!

Leave a Reply

