July Favourites

July was a busy month. I reconnected with a lot of people and began working again. Nevertheless, I managed to fill the free time I had with a ton of new recipes, books, music, and more. Not surprisingly, a lot of these made it to this months favourites.

Chia Seeds: This superfood has been a staple in my diet this month. They are packed full of omega-3 fatty acids and fibre, and, with virtually no taste, they are the perfect addition to SO many foods. I particularly enjoy them in my oats, hot or cold, smoothies and sprinkled over toast. I might even have some recipe posts in the works…

Chickpeas: This is another great food that I’ve made a staple in my diet. They are a good source of protein, carbs, and fibre. I love cooking them in a pan, or rinsing them and eating them cold in a salad. They can also be roasted in the oven for a snack!

I Am Malala: I have been meaning to read this book for years now and I’m so glad that I finally picked it up! Whether you already know her story or not, it is definitely a must read. There is just something about hearing her own words. She is a remarkably inspiring woman and I definitely needed this book. It certainly reminded me of how grateful I should be.

Confessions of a Sociopath: This book, written under a pseudonym, is a memoir by a diagnosed sociopathic lawyer and blog-runner. The book tells personal stories and experiences highlighting the sociopathic traits evident. She hopes to educate the general public ways to identify a sociopath, as, believe it or not (note the sarcasm), they are not all criminals.

The Girl on the Train: I love psychological thrillers. When I am reading fiction, there’s a good chance it’s a murder-mystery. This book has been on my list for a little while now, especially since the movie came out. The book definitely did not disappoint. I couldn’t put it down! Immediately after finishing it, I watched the movie. I must say, it was a let-down. Had I watched the movie last year, when it came out, I never would have bothered to read the book. So, here I am, recommending that everyone give this book a shot!

Said The Whale: At the end of June, I went to the Arkells & July Talk concert with my dad. They were amazing, as expected, but I was pleasantly surprised by one of the opening bands, Said The Whale. They are an indie-rock band from Vancouver and I have been OBSESSED with them.

Up and Vanished: This podcast was recommended to me by a friend. Payne Lindsay, the host, looks back into the disappearance of Tara Grinstead eleven years ago in Georgia. Working with those involved in the case years ago and his listeners, he attempts to figure out what happened to the high school teaching beauty queen. I am still catching up on episodes, but each one sucks me right in!

Melodrama by Lorde: This album came out on June 16th and I love it. Of course I do, it is Lorde after all. My favourite song right now is Perfect Places, but each song is absolutely gorgeous. Her writing never fails to impress me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

